Sunsets (II)

Last Friday I went on a bike ride down to the river. It was nearing sunset, so I knew I needed to hurry, but I knew I had time to go to one spot. I had discovered this spot while walking along some railroad tracks that follows the river, it was a beautiful summer evening and the sky was just starting to get some color in it. I hadn’t been walking for a very long time when I came to a spot where there was mun on the non-river side of the tracks. My gaze then followed the steady trickle up the hill to a spot where I couldn’t see it any more, my naturally curious self was itching to climb, and climb I did. I discovered that the trickle of water flowed over what appeared to be an old service road that carved its way in between the woods and the drop down to the railroad tracks. This road had many vistas, from which the river and what laid before it were visible at a vantage point that compared to very few others. I knew I would visit this spot again.

The most recent time I visited was one of the most beautiful yet. The sky was already splashed with the warm colors of the sunset that contrasted sharply with the chilly wind that whipped through my hair. The wind is always more intense when you are riding into it, especially down hills, and since I was going to the river there were plenty slopes for me to speed down.

The feeling of going down a large hill on a bike is similar to flying. The wind whips past your face, and through your arms. Objects become blurred on either side of the road. And the speed, the speed is exhilarating. The final hill before the river is the largest of them all, and you feel as if you really are flying.

IMG_0139

I commenced to follow the railroad tracks to where I knew I could get the view that I had traveled for. The walk always increases the anticipation, with glimpses of the sky given through the trees at random outbursts. The climb up the slope must be done with both hands and feet so you typically do not turn around on the climb. But after the climb is done, you get to turn around. The river snakes through a blanket of changing leaves. The clouds reflect the glorious light of the evening sun, and the water follows suit. This wonderful scene spread out before my eyes like a vast mosaic of life and light. I could not help but think about how lucky I was to have found that spot, and to be able to be there at a time when everything was so beautiful. There are spots like this everywhere, you just have to go looking for them. In some cases, like mine, the spot might just present itself, out of luck or fate, but whatever the case is make sure you take the time and energy required to enjoy these beautiful spots, and share them with others. Again I issue a challenge, a challenge to go out into nature to experience the simpest of things, for it is the simplest of things that lead to the greatest happiness.

 

 

Leave a comment