how close you are to nature

           I work at a construction company, and we travel to many different developments through out the city in which I live. When I say city I do not mean like New York or Chicago, but rather a smaller city of about 200,000 people. The developments that surround this city all border either a corn, soy field, or a forest, two of the most beautiful uses of land that humans have. As I viewed the areas that surrounded the places where numerous new houses were being built I could not help but think about the wildlife that had their habitat destroyed by the houses that now dot the hillsides where they used to roam. Not all species have their habitat destroyed by development, many animals that live in lakes are fine because the lakes are kept when the houses are built. Other species such as coyotes and deer have no problem living in the suburban environments that have been popping up around our country. The thing about these developments that is the saddest is that the people who live in them do not appreciate the nature that they love closest to. They have so many beautiful natural places that are very near to their homes and very few of them take the opportunity to actually enjoy them. These are not bad people, and many of them are good people, but very few take advantage of the natural spaces that surround them. Of course they all know that there is nature all around them, but what they do not know is how to fully take advantage of these places. Very few will ever take the time to go for a walk in the woods, or to explore the creek that flows through their backyards. They do not realize the beauty of what lies so near to them, in the trees, streams, and wondrous fields stretches far as the eye can see. They not realize how lucky they are to live in a country in which beauty can be found everywhere. I like to think that I appreciate the natural places that are all around me, and that my opinion has some affect on those I interact with. I now encourage all of you to go outside, to look at a tree, to get muddy in a creek. You will, I guaranteed ace fun, but most of all you will be able to take a step back, and enjoy what lies around you.

Leave a comment